The American Goldfinch is obnoxious and arrogant in flight; they have a pesky scoop-and-sing pattern and I scowl at them often.
“Isn’t it dumb to write bad things about a bird and then show us one?”
“Yes!”
ALSO: This picture was taken in August. On a day like today, August is the last thing I’d miss, but soon I’ll be singing a different tune, maybe

Young Black-Crowned Night Heron, seen at Common Gadzookery among the Autumnal Tangles

O dear ghosties I’m not really a birder per se, but I will tell you that the Connecticut Warbler is tied for first place on my “rarest birds seen in Toronto” list and certainly I was chuffed to see the plump little Spring bean “out in the open” like this. Other “birders” who watched this festive wood warbler alongside me cooed whispers like: “I’ve been waiting twenty years for this” and “I am in heaven” and “I want to cry” and even “I can die now”. My sweet sproats: I do not make these things up, I do not exaggerate! Birders are bonkers!

1 thought on “Fond reminiscences, etc.

  1. Linda

    Not ALL birders are bonkers I presume! (Just in case you someday classify yourself as such – “birder”, not the other!)

    Reply

Leave a comment